news, education, historyWell I am starting to get the feeling that summer is winding down and school is just around the corner. We start at the end of the month and there are things to get done before school starts. First we have a Kids’ Camp to cook for and a wedding to cook for. Then we go to the cabin for a week. It’ll be a whirlwind last month of summer that will be packed with fun but will be sure to go by fast. August 29th I start my 28th year in the teaching profession.

My wife and I seem to cook an awful lot during the summer. People seem to like our cooking so  guess we must be pretty good cooks. I specialize in sourdough pizza, sourdough bread, barbecuing, and cooking large quantities of food on the griddles. I cook 10 dozen eggs on the griddle at a time. Going to try making sourdough bread sticks today so that I can make 400 or so for the wedding. It’ll be the same recipe as the pizza dough recipe but I’ll cut the dough into strips before I bake them.

Here is the recipe I use for the sourdough pizza, bread etc…

    • News game, current events  2 cups proofed sourdough starter (it needs to be foamy before use)
    •   1 teaspoon salt
    •   1/2 cup water
    •   2 tablespoons oil
    •   3 cups white bread flour
    •   cornmeal

Directions:

Prep Time: 1 1/2 hrsTotal Time: 2 hrs

  1.  Put all ingredients except cornmeal in bread machine pan in the order recommended by manufacturer.
  2. Select dough cycle and start.( I knead by hand because I make large batches)
  3. Divide the dough into 4 equal portions and form into balls.
  4. With a rolling pin, flatten the balls into 12- to 13-inch rounds about 1/8 inch thick.
  5. Fold each round in half and transfer to a bakers peel or thin baking sheet sprinkled with cornmeal.
  6. Proof, covered, for about 45 minutes at 85 degrees F.
  7. Place a baking stone in a cold oven and preheat for at least 15 minutes at 450 to 500 degrees F.
  8. Add your toppings to the rounds of dough and transfer the pizzas to the hot baking stone (See Note).
  9. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until crust is brown.
  10. Remove from oven with bakers peel.
  11. NOTE: It takes practice to transfer the pizza to the stone.
  12.  As an alternative, bake the pizza on a traditional pizza pan sprinkled with cornmeal.
I usually multiply this recipe by ten when making large batches for camp. It’s wonderful stuff and very cheap to feed a lot of people. The most important step in the whole process is making sure the starter is foaming before you start. I can always guarantee a good bread if the starter looks right before I start.
So I better get to work. Try out this recipe and let me know how it worked out for you. If you have questions post them here.
